What Uber Eats and Mr D charge restaurants in South Africa
Marketplace fees are a percentage of each order. doorbell charges R1,000 per store per month plus payment processing, with no commission on direct orders. The figures below are from public sources checked on 6 November 2026 (Africa/Johannesburg). Your own contract may differ.
What Uber Eats publishes for South Africa
Uber Eats lists its South African marketplace rates on its official merchant pricing page (the page states that those plans are available in South Africa):
- Uber Delivery: 30% delivery fee, and 33% on Uber One member orders
- Self-delivery: 14% self-delivery fee
- Pickup (non-delivery): 14% pickup fee
On that same page, Uber also describes Uber Direct as fulfilment from a merchant’s own website, app or phone, as fulfilment from your own website or app rather than as a marketplace listing. Uber does not publish the Direct amount on that page.
The same page notes a customer Delivery Fee, calculated from factors such as location and demand, which is separate from the restaurant marketplace fee. It also lists optional in-app ads, including once-off ad credits of R1,000 and matching of monthly ads spend up to R2,000 on the delivery plan shown.
Worked example, using only the published delivery rate: on a R200 Uber Delivery order, 30% is R60. If that order is from an Uber One member, 33% is R66. That example is illustrative of the published percentage, not a quote of what any specific restaurant pays.
What Mr D publishes — and what it does not
Mr D does not publish a restaurant commission percentage. We are not guessing one here.
A Mr D restaurant-partner presentation hosted by the Western Cape Government tells restaurants: zero set-up fee; a nominal monthly subscription fee plus a percentage commission charged on the value of each order; and payouts twice a week, net of commission. It does not state the percentage.
Mr D’s become a partner page describes weekly payment, account support and promotional packages. It also does not state a commission percentage.
In April 2024, MyBroadband reported that restaurants commonly describe third-party commissions as typically around 30% of the product value, and that neither Mr D nor Uber Eats would provide their latest restaurant commissions when asked. Treat that 30% figure as restaurant reporting in the press, not as an official Mr D rate.
MyBroadband separately compared customer menu prices on the apps with in-store prices and found markups generally between 21% and 33% in that 2024 review. A later MyBroadband comparison found item markups from 14% to 40.5%. Those are customer-facing price differences, not the same thing as the restaurant commission.
What the Competition Commission found
In its July 2023 Online Intermediation Platforms Market Inquiry media statement, the Competition Commission said independent restaurants lack negotiating power with Uber Eats and Mr D Food, resulting in higher commission fees than restaurant chains, which forces them to push up prices to consumers.
The same statement, and the final inquiry report, required:
- Uber Eats and Mr D Food to inform consumers that they charge restaurants a commission and that menu prices may differ from in-store prices
- Uber Eats to implement a standardised tiered commission structure for independent restaurants, with a choice of different, and lower, commission fees tied to different service levels
- Mr D Food to offer independent restaurants a promotional rebate on the commission fee, for discounts or promotions on Mr D Food, along with advertising credits
The public summary does not set out a single official Mr D percentage, so this page does not invent one.
How that compares with doorbell
doorbell is a direct ordering and managed delivery channel you own. Repeat customers can order from your brand — through a direct delivery app, web ordering or WhatsApp ordering — with no commission on those direct orders.
| Uber Eats (published, South Africa) | Mr D | doorbell direct channel | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurant fee on a platform delivery order | 30% delivery fee; 33% on Uber One member orders, per Uber’s merchant pricing page | A percentage of each order is charged, but the percentage is not published | R1,000 per store per month plus payment processing; no commission on direct orders |
| Self-delivery / pickup | 14% self-delivery; 14% pickup | Not published | Managed delivery is included in the direct channel, with driver dispatch and driver fleet management |
| Monthly platform fee | Not listed as a separate monthly fee on the published delivery plan | A nominal monthly subscription, amount not published, plus commission | R1,000 per store per month |
| Who the customer belongs to | The marketplace | The marketplace | You own the customer relationship |
The practical approach for most restaurants is still marketplace plus direct: keep Uber Eats and Mr D where they bring new customers, and move regulars onto a channel you own. See the Uber Eats alternative and the Mr D alternative, or the direct ordering page for what is included.
Sources checked on 6 November 2026: Uber Eats merchant pricing (South Africa); Competition Commission OIPMI media statement, 31 July 2023; OIPMI final report; Mr D partner presentation via the Western Cape Government; Mr D become a partner; MyBroadband, 14 April 2024.
Common questions
What does Uber Eats charge restaurants in South Africa?
Uber Eats publishes these South African marketplace rates: 30% for Uber Delivery, 33% for Uber One member orders, 14% for self-delivery and 14% for pickup. See the official merchant pricing page. Your own contract may differ.
What does Mr D charge restaurants in South Africa?
Mr D does not publish a commission percentage. Official partner materials describe a zero set-up fee, a nominal monthly subscription and a percentage commission on each order, with payouts twice a week net of commission. The percentage itself is not published, so this page does not invent one.
Are menu prices on Uber Eats and Mr D the same as in-store prices?
Not necessarily. The Competition Commission required Uber Eats and Mr D Food to tell consumers that they charge restaurants a commission and that menu prices may differ from in-store prices. MyBroadband has also reported customer-facing markups on the apps compared with in-store prices.
How does doorbell compare?
doorbell charges R1,000 per store per month plus payment processing, with no commission on direct orders. Repeat customers order from your own channel. You can keep Uber Eats or Mr D for discovery.
Do I have to leave Uber Eats or Mr D?
No. Most restaurants keep the marketplaces for discovery and move regulars to a direct channel.
Where do these figures come from?
Uber Eats figures are from its South African merchant pricing page, checked on 6 November 2026. Mr D details are from its partner materials and reputable press. The Competition Commission findings are from the 2023 Online Intermediation Platforms Market Inquiry. Links to those sources are on this page.
Related guides
Start with a 30-day pilot on 1–3 branches.